The Love Movement
Reissue of the 1998 album by The Tribe. Conscious hip hop with minimalist R&B and jazzy production.

The Love Movement

A Tribe Called Quest

€ 42,95
  • 3 x LP
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


The Love Movement is the fifth studio album by American hip hop group A Tribe Called Quest, and their last album released during group member Phife Dawg's lifetime. 

Originally released on September 29, 1998, by Jive Records, it is a concept album, exploring the lyrical theme of love. Musically, it is a continuation of the group's previous album, Beats, Rhymes and Life, featuring minimalist R&B and jazz-oriented production by The Ummah.

The roots of The Love Movement trace back to 1997, when Q-Tip produced a beat intended for The Notorious B.I.G.'s album Life After Death. The Notorious B.I.G. enjoyed the beat when it was played for him, however, Life After Death had already been completed and the beat was not used before his death later that year. Eventually, the beat was used for the song "The Love" on The Love Movement.

Dele Fadele of NME praised it for demonstrating "the continued survival of hip-hop as an artform", calling the album's songs "drug-free psychedelic experiences in which subsonic bass and weird-sounding beats play a large part."



  • 1.Start It Up03:18
  • 2.Find A Way03:23
  • 3.Da Booty03:20


  • 1.Steppin' It Up03:22
  • 2.Like It Like That02:46
  • 3.Common Ground (Get It Goin' On)02:49
  • 4.4 Moms01:49
  • 5.His Name Is Mutty Ranks01:56


  • 1.Give Me03:52
  • 2.Pad & Pen03:23
  • 3.Busta's Lament02:39
  • 4.Hot 4 U03:15


  • 1.Against The World03:59
  • 2.The Love04:02
  • 3.Rock Rock Y'all04:17


  • 1.Scenario (Remix)05:17
  • 2.Money Maker04:22
  • 3.Hot Sex02:45


  • 4.Oh My God (Remix)04:02
  • 5.Jazz (We've Got) (Re-Recording Radio)04:19
  • 6.One Two S**t04:31

More by A Tribe Called Quest

You might also like

Shopping bag