The Fantastic Jazz Harp Of Dorothy Ashby
1965 Dorothy Ashby - wonderfull Harpist-Jazz on Atlantic Records - LP reissue

The Fantastic Jazz Harp Of Dorothy Ashby

Dorothy Ashby

€ 24,95
  • LP
Spellbound Music
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 50 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


This is the sixth album by Dorothy Ashby, a Detroit born jazz harpist who passed away in her early 50s in 1986 way before her time. She left us a rich legacy of music with this 1965 release being one of her milestones. The music is pure bright and swinging with a joyful mood. Dorothy Ashby performs her lines big time with her harp and captures your soul with the melodies she picks from its strings. She is always there upfront while the brass section mostly fills the background with colour if there is not a short solo part for the trumpet. Typical for the ancient jazz there are no vocals to be heard on this record but this only adds to the depth and intriguing atmosphere of the music. She starts where Coltrane has left the field of real song oriented albums for his experimental efforts and really pulls it off.

Reprint of the 1965 Original



  • 1.Flighty03:30
  • 2.Essence Of Sapphire02:14
  • 3.Why Did You Leave Me02:58
  • 4.I Will Follow You03:08
  • 5.What Am I Here For02:21


  • 1.House Of The Rising Sun03:01
  • 2.Invitation02:59
  • 3.Nabu Corfa03:47
  • 4.Feeling Good05:15
  • 5.Dodi Li02:18


More by Dorothy Ashby

You might also like

Shopping bag