Classic debut! Incl "After Midnight"


J.J. Cale

€ 26,95
  • LP
Music On Vinyl
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


J.J. Cale was an American singer-songwriter, recording artist and influential guitar stylist. Naturally was the debut album by J.J. Cale. First released in 1972, it includes his song "After Midnight", which had been recorded first by Eric Clapton in 1970. 

Cale, who was languishing in obscurity at the time, had no knowledge of Clapton's recording of "After Midnight" until it became a radio hit in 1970. Cale recalled to Mojo magazine that when he heard Clapton's version playing on his radio, "I was dirt poor, not making enough to eat and I wasn't a young man. I was in my thirties, so I was very happy. It was nice to make some money." Cale's friend and producer, Audie Ashworth, encouraged Cale to record a full album in order to capitalize on the success of his song.

Naturally was recorded independently, "on spec," the musicians being paid demo fees. Some songs, such as "Call Me the Breeze", were recorded with primitive drum machine accompaniment and sound almost like demos. The album showcased Cale's distinctive, understated style, and it successfully established his solo recording career, which continued until his death in 2013. The album contained the 1972 hits "Crazy Mama" and "After Midnight" as well as turntable hits "Bringing it Back" (recorded by Kansas for their first album), "Call Me the Breeze" (later recorded by Lynyrd Skynyrd), and "Clyde" (later recorded by Dr. Hook and the Medicine Show and a 1980 country hit for Waylon Jennings).

Music on vinyl Classic album 180 gram audiophile vinyl pressing 



  • 1.Call Me The Breeze02:34
  • 2.Call The Doctor02:25
  • 3.Don't Go To Strangers02:24
  • 4.Woman I Love02:40
  • 5.Magnolia03:22
  • 6.Clyde02:27


  • 1.Crazy Mama02:30
  • 2.Nowhere To Run02:24
  • 3.After Midnight02:23
  • 4.River Runs Deep02:41
  • 5.Bringing It Back02:43
  • 6.Crying Eyes03:14


More by J.J. Cale

You might also like

Shopping bag