Tortoise's 1998 critically acclaimed third studio 2lp album !



€ 29,95
  • 2 x LP
Thrill Jockey
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


TNT is the third studio album by American post-rock band Tortoise, released in 1998 by Thrill Jockey. After Jeff Parker joined the band in 1996, Tortoise recorded TNT over the course of a year with drummer John McEntire acting as producer, editor and mixing. Taking influence from their remix material of the 1990s, the band recorded the album using hard disk technology in a "forward-then-back" approach, with members individually adding parts to tracks at different stages until the tracks were completed. As with previous albums, the band members also shared instrumental roles.

Largely jettisoning the dub and electronic leanings of their previous work, TNT stirs the band a new, more organic direction with a heavier influence taken from jazz and groove. The electronic leanings do remain on the album, however, alongside other styles such as funkambient and the band's ongoing krautrock influence. Upon release, the album was critically acclaimed, with viewers complimenting its postmodern sound.



  • 1.TNT07:33
  • 2.Swung From The Gutters05:52
  • 3.Ten-Day Interval04:44


  • 1.I Set My Face To The Hillside06:08
  • 2.The Equator03:42
  • 3.A Simple Way To Go Faster Than Light That Does Not Work03:33


  • 1.The Suspension Bridge At Iguazú Falls05:38
  • 2.Four-Day Interval04:45
  • 3.In Sarah, Mencken, Christ, And Beethoven There Where Women And Men07:29


  • 1.Almost Always Is Nearly Enough02:42
  • 2.Jetty08:21
  • 3.Everglade04:21


More by Tortoise

You might also like

Shopping bag