Rock For Light
2nd album 1983 ... US hardcore punk classic

Rock For Light

Bad Brains

€ 32,95
  • LP
Bad Brains Records
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Original 1983 mix. Remastered by Dave Gardner at Infrasonic Mastering.

Rock for Light is the second full-length album by hardcore punk pioneers Bad Brains, released in 1983. A previous album, Bad Brains, was released in 1982 but only on cassette, therefore making Rock for Light Bad Brains' first proper album. It was produced by Ric Ocasek of The Cars.

The album contains a number of re-recorded songs from the band's first album, Bad Brains, as well as a number of new hardcore punk and reggae tracks. The only tracks from Bad Brains that did not get re-recorded for Rock for Light are "Don't Need It", "The Regulator", "Jah Calling", "Leaving Babylon", "Pay to Cum" and "I Luv Jah". It was the last Bad Brains album to feature only these two styles of music, as the band eventually experimented with funk, soul and heavy metal.

As Bad Brains broke up after the release of Rock for Light, it was the band's last album for three years. This was the first of several such break-ups during their career.

Kurt Cobain listed Rock for Light in his top fifty albums of all time.

Reissue with cover artwork identical to original.



  • 1.Coptic Times02:13
  • 2.Attitude01:12
  • 3.We Will Not01:40
  • 4.Sailin' On01:50
  • 5.Rally Round Jah Throne04:44
  • 6.Right Brigade02:30
  • 7.F.V.K. (Fearless Vampire Killers)00:48
  • 8.Riot Squad02:02
  • 9.The Meek Shall Inherit The Earth03:43


  • 1.Joshua's Song00:34
  • 2.Banned In D.C.02:05
  • 3.How Low Can A Punk Get01:55
  • 4.Big Takeover02:40
  • 5.I And I Survive05:13
  • 6.Destroy Babylon01:25
  • 7.Rock For Light01:25
  • 8.At The Movies02:20


More by Bad Brains

You might also like

Shopping bag