The Magnolia Electric Co (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)
2xCD 10 ann edition

The Magnolia Electric Co (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)

Songs: Ohia

€ 9,95
  • CD
  • CD
Secretly Canadian
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 50 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


The Magnolia Electric Co. is the seventh regular and final album by Songs: Ohia. It was recorded by Steve Albini at Electrical Audio in Chicago and released by Secretly Canadian on March 4, 2003. It received critical acclaim according to Metacritic (with a composite rating of 85, ranking 24th among best albums of 2003). Delusions of Adequacy called it "a watershed album, an artistic breakthrough, and the first album to fully realize Molina's potential." Allmusic was more reticent in its wording, claiming that "Magnolia Electric Co. may not be the best Songs: Ohia album, but it is certainly the most approachable. It has a big, open feel certain to appeal to any classic rock fan, but retains the warm intimacy of previous albums."

The naming of the album and comments by Jason Molina have led to discussions whether it is not, in fact, the first album by Molina's new band, also named Magnolia Electric Co. In fact the artwork for the album does not contain the name Songs: Ohia anywhere. On the other hand, the album was recorded with different musicians than the later members of Magnolia Electric Co., and the decision to take on the new name was not announced until the tour following the release in the spring of 2003. Molina later declared Didn't It Rain to be the final Songs: Ohia album.

2xCD 10th anniversary edition in triple gatefold sleeve. Includes two bonus tracks.



  • 1.Farewell Transmission07:22
  • 2.I've Been Riding With The Ghost03:20
  • 2.Just Be Simple04:20
  • 4.Almost Was Good Enough04:28
  • 5.The Old Black Hen05:48
  • 6.Peoria Lunch Box Blues05:48
  • 7.John Henry Split My Heart06:09
  • 8.Hold On Magnolia07:51
  • 9.The Big Game Is Every Night09:54
  • 10.Whip-Poor-Will03:53


  • 1.Farewell Transmission06:56
  • 2.I've Been Riding With The Ghost03:10
  • 3.Just Be Simple02:54
  • 4.The Old Black Hen04:56
  • 5.Peoria Lunchbox Blues04:25
  • 6.John Henry Split My Heart05:49
  • 7.Hold On Magnolia06:23
  • 8.The Big Game Is Every Night06:26
  • 9.Whip-Poor-Will03:35


More by Songs: Ohia

You might also like

Shopping bag