The Soft Machine
1968 psychedelic prog debut album by one of the central bands in the Canterbury scene

The Soft Machine

Soft Machine

€ 29,95
  • LP
Tapestry Records
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


The Soft Machine (also titled Volume One) is the debut album by the British psychedelic rock band Soft Machine, originally released in 1968. It is the group's only album to feature Kevin Ayers as a member.

Founded in 1966, Soft Machine (one of the central bands in the Canterbury scene) recorded and released this studio album during their 1968 tour of the USA. It was produced by Chas Chandler and Tom Wilson.

The work on this album was one of the essential roots in progressive rock and jazz-fusion.

Gatefold sleeve replicating the original album, with a circular cut-out in sleeve, revealing rotating 'clockwork image' card insert through which the band members can be viewed on a further inserted full-color backing sheet.



  • 1.Hope For Happiness04:21
  • 2.Joy Of A Toy02:49
  • 3.Hope For Happiness (Reprise)01:38
  • 4.Why Am I So Short?01:39
  • 5.So Boot If At All07:25
  • 6.A Certain Kind04:11


  • 1.Save Yourself02:25
  • 2.Priscilla01:05
  • 3.Lullabye Letter04:37
  • 4.We Did It Again03:46
  • 5.Plus Belle Qu'une Poubelle01:01
  • 6.Why Are We Sleeping?05:31
  • 7.Box 25/4 Lid00:47


More by Soft Machine

You might also like

Shopping bag