High Priestess Of Soul
1967 studio album by the high priestess of soul jazz...

High Priestess Of Soul

Nina Simone

€ 27,95
  • LP
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


High Priestess of Soul is a 1967 studio album by jazz singer, pianist and songwriter Nina Simone. The songs are accompanied by a large band directed and arranged by Hal Mooney. The album contains pop songs (such as "Don't You Pay Them No Mind") and African American gospel and folk related songs written by Simone herself (such as "Take Me to the Water" and "Come Ye"). 

After this album title –an attempt to broaden her appeal by management execs– Nina Simone was sometimes titled “the high priestess of soul”, although she completely rejected the title herself because it placed a label on her as an artist. However, according to her daughter, Lisa, she never hated that moniker.

The songs "I Hold No Grudge" and "He Ain't Comin' Home No More" were co-written by Andy Badale, the pseudonym of Angelo Badalamenti, who later became known as the composer of the soundtracks for the films of David Lynch.



  • 1.Don't You Pay Them No Mind03:00
  • 2.I'm Gonna Leave You02:17
  • 3.Brown Eyed Handsome Man02:01
  • 4.Keeper Of The Flame03:20
  • 5.The Gal From Joe's02:42
  • 6.Take Me To The Water02:49


  • 1.I'm Going Back Home02:47
  • 2.I Hold No Grudge02:18
  • 3.Come Ye03:35
  • 4.He Ain't Comin' Home No More03:09
  • 5.Work Song03:04
  • 6.I Love My Baby04:03


More by Nina Simone

You might also like

Shopping bag