The Original Nina Simone
classic debut-album reissued, incl 'my baby just cares for me'

The Original Nina Simone

Nina Simone

€ 21,95
  • LP
Jazz Wax Records
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


This album, originally issued as Little Girl Blue on Bethlehem was Nina Simone's first album and first recording ever. Made when she was 25-year old, it was a huge success and led to a tremendous career which would produce more than 80 studio sessions. After making these tracks, Simone would not record again for two years, finally returning to the studios for a 1959 New York date with a large orchestra directed by Bob Mersey. Simone would only record again with Jimmy Bond and Al Heath during a 1959 concert at Town hall. The singer's career came to a close in 1993, when she cut her final sessions with a sextet in Los Angeles. She died in France on April 21, 2003.



  • 1.Mood Indigo04:00
  • 2.Don't Smoke In Bed03:09
  • 3.He Needs Me02:26
  • 4.Little Girl Blue04:12
  • 5.Love Me Or Leave Me03:18
  • 6.My Baby Just Cares For Me03:33


  • 1.Good Bait05:25
  • 2.Plain Gold Ring03:50
  • 3.You'll Never Walk Alone03:58
  • 4.I Loves You Porgy04:03
  • 5.Central Park Blues03:05


More by Nina Simone

You might also like

Shopping bag