1983 Tom Waits classic!


Tom Waits

€ 30,95
  • LP
Island Records
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Swordfishtrombones is the seventh studio album by American singer-songwriter Tom Waits, released in September 1983. It was the first album that Waits produced himself. Stylistically different from his previous LPs, the album moves away from the piano and string orchestra arrangements of the late 1970s, replacing them instead with unusual instrumentation and a somewhat more abstract songwriting approach.

The cover art is a TinTone photograph by Michael A. Russ showing Waits with the actors Angelo Rossitto and Lee Kolima.

It was ranked at number 2 among the "Albums of the Year" for 1983 by NME. 

In 1989, Spin named Swordfishtrombones the second greatest album of all time.

In 2006, Q placed the album at #36 in its list of "40 Best Albums of the '80s."

Pitchfork listed Swordfishtrombones as 11th best album of the 1980s. 

Slant Magazine listed the album at #26 on its list of "Best Albums of the 1980's".



  • 1.Underground01:58
  • 2.Shore Leave04:12
  • 3.Dave The Butcher02:15
  • 4.Johnsburg, Illinois01:30
  • 5.16 Shells From A 30-604:30
  • 6.Town With No Cheer04:22
  • 7.In The Neighborhood03:04


  • 1.Just Another Sucker On The Vine01:42
  • 2.Frank's Wild Years01:50
  • 3.Swordfishtrombone03:00
  • 4.Down, Down, Down02:10
  • 5.Soldier's Things03:15
  • 6.Gin Soaked Boy02:20
  • 7.Trouble's Braids01:18
  • 8.Rainbirds03:05


More by Tom Waits

You might also like

Shopping bag