Townes Van Zandt
1969 album reissued

Townes Van Zandt

Townes Van Zandt

€ 24,95
  • LP
Fat Possum Records
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


John Townes Van Zandt (March 7, 1944 – January 1, 1997), better known as Townes Van Zandt, was an American singer-songwriter. He is widely held in high regard for his poetic, often heroically sad songs. In 1983, six years after Emmylou Harris had first popularized it, Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard covered his song "Pancho and Lefty", reaching number one on the Billboard country music chart. Much of his life was spent touring various dive bars, often living in cheap motel rooms and backwoods cabins. For much of the 1970s, he lived in a simple shack without electricity or a phone.

He suffered from a series of drug addictions, alcoholism, and was given a psychiatric diagnosis of bipolar disorder. When he was young, the now-discredited insulin shock therapy erased much of his long-term memory.

Van Zandt died on New Years Day 1997 from cardiac arrythmia caused by health problems stemming from years of substance abuse. 

Originally released by Poppy Records in 1969.



  • 1.For The Sake Of The Song05:22
  • 2.Columbine02:34
  • 3.Waiting Around To Die02:45
  • 4.Don't Take It Too Bad02:54
  • 5.Colorado Girl03:18


  • 1.Lungs02:29
  • 2.I'll Be Here In The Morning03:00
  • 3.Fare Thee Well, Miss Carousel05:22
  • 4.(Quicksilver Daydreams Of) Maria04:45
  • 5.None But The Rain02:23


More by Townes Van Zandt

You might also like

Shopping bag