Reissue of 1993 early IDM album with roots in techno and rave music. On Warp Records!


Speedy J

€ 29,95
  • 2 x LP
Warp Records
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Ginger is the debut studio album by Dutch electronic music producer Speedy J (Jochem Paap). Released via a joint deal between Plus 8 and Warp in September 1993, the album was the sixth release in Warp's Artificial Intelligence series, which focused on "electronic listening music" by different artists.

After establishing himself as a techno producer and DJ, Paap recorded Ginger with the intention of transferring his techno sound to a home listening environment, an idea he shared with Plus 8 founder Richie Hawtin, who also contributed to the Artificial Intelligence series. The album carries Paap's minimalist style into music that combines hard beats with ambient music, with 4/4 beats but atypical percussive elements and tempos. Although the album was rooted in techno and rave music, it is considered one of the earliest IDM albums. Upon release, it received acclaim for its forward-thinking style.



  • 1.Ginger07:16
  • 2.Fill 402:11
  • 3.Beam Me Up!05:43


  • 1.R2 D205:43
  • 2.Fill 1404:05
  • 3.Basic Design07:42


  • 1.Perfect Pitch07:10
  • 2.Flashback06:19


  • 1.Pepper05:53
  • 2.De-Orbit06:11


You might also like

Shopping bag