Ruth Is Stranger Than Richard
Robert Wyatt's third solo album from 1975...

Ruth Is Stranger Than Richard

Robert Wyatt

€ 26,95
  • LP
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


The follow-up to Rock Bottom, for which Wyatt had written all of the music and lyrics, Ruth... consisted of Wyatt's adaptations and arrangements of other people's music (either friends – Phil Manzanera, Fred Frith, Mongezi Feza, former Wilde Flowers bandmate Brian Hopper – or influences – Charlie Haden) with Wyatt adding his own lyrics in much the same way as he had done on Matching Mole's Little Red Record

Apart from "Sonia", recorded for the shelved "Yesterday Man" single in October 1974 (again with Nick Mason as producer), the entire album was recorded and mixed at Virgin's The Manor Studio with Wyatt himself handling production duties. 

Much of the album features Wyatt (on lead vocals and keyboards) backed by a "band" consisting of bassist Bill MacCormick, drummer Laurie Allan and saxophonists George Khan and Gary Windo, with Brian Eno adding his own idiosyncratic "anti-jazz" touch.



  • 1.Muddy Mouse (a)00:50
  • 2.Solar Flares05:35
  • 3.Muddy Mouse (b)00:50
  • 4.5 Black Notes And 1 White Note04:58
  • 5.Muddy Mouse (c) / Muddy Mouth06:11


  • 1.Soup Song05:00
  • 2.Sonia04:12
  • 3.Team Spirit08:26
  • 4.Song For Che03:36


More by Robert Wyatt

You might also like

Shopping bag