1st Born Second
Nu-soul / R&B classic from 2001 reissued! For fans of D'Angelo, Erykah Badu,...

1st Born Second


€ 34,95
  • 2 x LP
Music On Vinyl
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


1st Born Second is the debut album by the American singer-songwriter Bilal, originally released on July 27, 2001, by Interscope Records.

Bilal recorded the album at Electric Lady Studios in New York with a host of record producers, including Aaron Comess, Dr. Dre, Mike City, Megahertz, Raphael Saadiq, and J Dilla.

Reviewing for PopMatters, Neal hailed the album as "one of the most significant debuts in black pop during the past 25 years". Vibe's Tamika Andeson called it "one of the best R&B albums of the year". 

According to AllMusic's Andy Kellman, "at that point, the closest points of comparison were D'Angelo and Maxwell, yet Bilal was more dynamic than the former and less mannered than the latter. 1st Born Second carried an energy that neither one of those singers, as hot as they were at the time, could boast."



  • 1.Intro01:44
  • 2.For You03:44
  • 3.Fast Lane04:33
  • 4.Reminisce03:54
  • 5.All That I Am (Somethin For The People)03:54


  • 1.Sally03:39
  • 2.Sometimes07:10
  • 3.Love It03:46
  • 4.C'Mere02:08


  • 1.Soul Sista05:18
  • 2.When Will You Call04:45
  • 3.Queen Sanity05:18
  • 4.Love Poems05:23


  • 1.You Are04:15
  • 2.Home05:21
  • 3.Slyde04:03
  • 4.Second Child06:49


You might also like

Shopping bag