Gaia: Selected Ambient & Downtempo Works (1996-2003)
Japanese ambient on Music From Memory!

Gaia: Selected Ambient & Downtempo Works (1996-2003)

Dream Dolphin

€ 32,95
  • 2 x LP
Music From Memory
Expected release
7 April 2023
PRE-ORDER ITEM: This item will only be shipped to you on or after 7 April 2023. Please note any orders containing pre-order items won't be shipped until all items are available, so please order this separately to avoid delays. Release dates are at the mercy of labels, distributor, and pressing plants and will change constantly.

PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Gaia: Selected Ambient & Downtempo Works (1996-2003)’ is a new in-depth compilation of works by Japanese musician Dream Dolphin. Co-compiled by Eiji Taniguchi, it draws from a vast discography of music oscillating between IDM, Pop and Electronic Dance Music. First appearing on Eiji’s compilation ’Heisei No Oto - Japanese Left-field Pop From The CD Age (1989-1996)’, this selection of rediscoveries, further shines a light on the singular musician known as Dream Dolphin and her place in Japan’s rich electronic music legacy.

Dream Dolphin was originally an Ambient and Electronic project by the Japanese artist referred to simply as Noriko, who moved from studying classic Italian songs as a child, to increasingly being inspired by artists such as PIL, Yellow Magic Orchestra, KLF and movies such as ‘2001: A Space Odyssey’ and ‘Le Grand Bleu’. The music she released under the name Dream Dolphin, from the age of sixteen, is unique and versatile in style, encompassing Ambient, IDM, Techno, Trance and Drum & Bass, whilst fusing natural sounds with her own spoken word lyrics.

Dream Dolphin released an incredible twenty albums in just eight years. In addition to her own projects, she has also put together a number of fascinating compilations herself, as well as composing ambient music to be used in hospitals and other caring contexts. ‘Gaia: Selected Ambient & Downtempo Works (1996-2003)’ contains 15 tracks thoughtfully selected from various albums that until now were only released on CD format.


  1. Gaia (Ethereal Fantasy)

  2. Stars

  3. Tour 5 Modern Blue Asia~Soundscapes For Ocean Therapy (Like A Music Therapy)

  4. Healing Moon - Tsuki No Iyashi Umi No Mahou

  5. The Genesis: Yoga (New Age Ambience)

  6. Voyage (Dive To The Future Sight)

  7. Iruka Tachi To Asonda Kioku / Under Water

  8. Rain

  9. L.E.A. (Mirror Coordinate Mix)

  10. The Rebirth / (Jinsei Nante Konnamono) Sou Omotta Shunkan Ni Jinsei Wa Owaru

  11. Cosmic Blue

  12. Image-Respect-Love Anata Ga Jiyu Ni Naru Toki / Into The Blue (Haha Naru Umi Ga Rhythm De Oshiete Kureru Koto)

  13. Love Ate Alien

  14. Daichi No Uta

  15. Island Humming

You might also like

Shopping bag