In A Space Outta Sound
Dub-heavy trip-hop from one of the prime architects of the genre...

In A Space Outta Sound

Nightmares On Wax

€ 30,95
  • 2 x LP
Warp Records
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


In a Space Outta Sound is a studio album by Nightmares on Wax. It was originally released via Warp Records on 7 March 2006.

One of the prime architects of the organic grooves later dubbed trip-hop

With the air cleared of downtempo cash-ins, producer George Evelyn and producer/keyboardist Robin Taylor-Firth went right back to dub-heavy trip-hop with In a Space Outta Sound

Unsurprisingly, Nightmares on Wax remain among the best at constructing simple grooves with endless depths; their only rival is Massive Attack

The centerpiece is "Damn", seven and a half minutes of gently undulating hip-hop courtesy of a reedy Al Hirt sample (familiar from its use by De La Soul) that eventually flowers into an R&B jam with a gospel choir. 

The other highlight is the hypnotic rocksteady groove of "Flip Ya Lid" with vocals from Ricky Rankin. 

As with past NoW releases, In a Space Outta Sound boasts an emphasis on sound architecture that requires expensive stereo equipment (or bucket loads of narcotics) to fully appreciate.



  • 1.Passion06:50
  • 2.The Sweetest05:50


  • 1.Flip Ya Lid05:22
  • 2.Pudpots03:41
  • 3.Damn07:37


  • 1.You Wish03:30
  • 2.Deep Down06:19
  • 3.Chime Out01:07
  • 4.Me!05:51


  • 1.I Am You06:40
  • 2.Soul Purpose03:28
  • 3.African Pirates06:43


More by Nightmares On Wax

You might also like

Shopping bag