Abbey Is Blue
a breakthrough performance in jazz singing

Abbey Is Blue

Abbey Lincoln

€ 27,95
  • LP
Craft Recordings
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 60 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Abbey Is Blue is the fourth album by American jazz vocalist Abbey Lincoln featuring tracks recorded in 1959 for the Riverside label.

Featuring an all-star lineup including Kenny Dorham, Stanley Turrentine, Wynton Kelly, Sam Jones, Philly Joe Jones and Max Roach, among others...

"With the civil rights movement looming over the horizon, no longer did singers need to stick with standards and Tin Pan Alley tunes and could truly sing about subjects that mattered to them. Lincoln picked up Billie Holiday's skill at inhabiting the lyrics of a song and projecting its emotional content outward, and these songs, all of which deal with sorrow, are stark and harrowing accounts of loss and injustice."



  • 1.Afro-Blue03:25
  • 2.Lonely House03:33
  • 3.Let Up05:19
  • 4.Thursday's Child03:34
  • 5.Brother, Where Are You?03:05


  • 1.Laugh, Clown, Laugh05:17
  • 2.Come Sunday05:07
  • 3.Softly, As In A Morning Sunrise02:41
  • 4.Lost In The Stars04:06
  • 5.Long As You're Living02:31


You might also like

Shopping bag