Island Stories
Abstract electronic record from 1986's Irish avant-garde

Island Stories

Nigel Rolfe

€ 19,95
  • LP
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 50 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Must-check reissue of Nigel Rolfe’s little known DX7 & Bodhrán recordings made in the same studios frequented by Eno and U2 circa 1986, newly illuminated, remastered and expanded with bonus material by Dublin’s vital archivists of the Irish avant garde, Allchival (Michael O’Shea, Stano)

“Nigel Rolfe’s “Island Stories” is a unique record for 80’s Ireland. An unusually experimental electronic and abstract record for the time, it was originally released to little fanfare on Reekus records in 1986. Based around the DX7 synth and key collaborations with studio engineers and vocalists it was created as a soundtrack to a performance work of the same name. 



  • 1.African Flower03:18
  • 2.Going Boeing05:25
  • 3.Three Monkeys04:02
  • 4.Made In Japan06:08


  • 1.Heartbeat Drumbeat03:12
  • 2.The Ostrich06:06
  • 3.Amerikaye05:04
  • 4.Breast Mound Bowl03:33
  • 5.PW Bothas Funeral March04:27


You might also like

Shopping bag