Getz / Gilberto
Verve Records 1964 Bossa Nova Classic incl "Girl from Ipanema"

Getz / Gilberto

Stan Getz

€ 30,95
  • LP
Verve Records
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Getz/Gilberto is an album by American saxophonist Stan Getz and Brazilian guitarist Joao Gilberto, featuring pianist and composer Antonio Carlos Jobim, who also composed many of the tracks. It was released in March 1964 on Verve records. The album features the vocals of Astrud Gilberto on two tracks, "Garota de Ipanema" ("The Girl from Ipanema") and "Corcovado". 

Getz/Gilberto is a jazz ànd bossa nova album, and includes tracks such as "Desafinado", "Corcovado", and "Garota de Ipanema". The latter received a Grammy Award for Record of the year, and launched Astrud Gilberto to international stardom. "Doralice" and "Para Machucar Meu Coração" strengthened Gilberto's and Jobim's respect for the tradition of pre-bossa nova samba.

It's considered the record that popularized bossa nova worldwide, and was one of the best-selling jazz albums of all time. The album was also a commercial success, selling more than 2 million copies in 1964 and was widely acclaimed by music critics, who praised Gilberto's vocals and the album's bossa nova groove and minimalism



  • 1.The Girl From Ipanema05:15
  • 2.Doralice02:45
  • 3.Para Machuchar Meu Coração (To Hurt My Heart)05:07
  • 4.Desafinado04:05


  • 1.Corcovado04:15
  • 2.Só Danço Samba (Jazz Samba)03:30
  • 3.O Grande Amor05:25
  • 4.Vivo Sonhando02:52


You might also like

Shopping bag