Walking On A Dream - Mustard Yellow Vinyl
Heady mix of 80s throwback and hedonistic futurism. 2024 repress!

Walking On A Dream - Mustard Yellow Vinyl

Empire Of The Sun

€ 34,95
  • LP
Expected release
28 June 2024
PRE-ORDER ITEM: This item will only be shipped to you on or after 28 June 2024. Please note any orders containing pre-order items won't be shipped until all items are available, so please order this separately to avoid delays. Release dates are at the mercy of labels, distributor, and pressing plants and will change constantly.

1 per customer
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


2024 repress of the 2008 album on limited edition mustard yellow vinyl.

Electro duo Empire Of The Sun dress like Adam Ant and borrow their name from the film that launched the career of Christian Bale. But don't let their at best dubious choice of influences put you off. Their talent is undoubtable and this album sounds like an instant classic.

This is the sound of the Noughties - electro enough without being harsh, interesting without being over-cool, quirky without being weird. Empire Of The Sun have cracked the perfect blend of fond reflection and sexy new frontier frisson. If this is what the future sounds like, then it's going to be beautiful.

Luke Steele's unique vocals alone could risk becoming annoying, but Nick Littlemore's fabulous, eerie synths, breathy BVs and stunning production ensure the end product is something utterly ethereal. If you jammed VHS copies of Labyrinth and The Neverending Story into a blender and then poured them into your stereo, this is what should come out.

It'd be a mistake to lump them in alongside MGMT and Iglu & Hartley, though the lazy no doubt will. This is a step above the rest. Take eponymous debut single Walking On A Dream, which has already racked up some serious airplay across the UK - it's a heady mix of 80s throwback and hedonistic futurism.

We Are The People is their shining call to arms - a surefire hit. Swordfish Hotkiss Night is as freaky a funkfest as the title suggests. And finale track Without You is dreamy, epic and the perfect closer.

Zany Aussies Steele and Littlemore may be mad as cheese, but it's eccentricity rather than mania. They took a break from day jobs making music with Sleepy Jackson and Pnau to make this record. Don't expect them to be going back to them any time soon after it's released. --Sophie Bruce



  • 1.Standing On The Shore
  • 2.Walking On A Dream
  • 3.Half Mast
  • 4.We Are The People
  • 5.Delta Bay


  • 1.Country
  • 2.The World
  • 3.Swordfish Hotkiss Night
  • 4.Tiger By My Side
  • 5.Without You


More by Empire Of The Sun

You might also like

Shopping bag