Still Slipping Volume 1
First full length by Joy Orbison. UK Garage on XL Recordings!

Still Slipping Volume 1

Joy Orbison

€ 22,95
  • LP
XL Recordings
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 60 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


‘still slipping vol.1’ is the debut full length project from Joy Orbison. Fans of Joy O’s DJ sets and radio shows will already be aware of his diverse tastes and inspirations, represented here through a roll call of delicately curated, mainly UK, collaborators that include Herron, James Massiah, Bathe, Léa Sen, Goya Gumbani and TYSON.

Just as important are the voices of Joy Orbison's family - mum, dad, sister Sarah, uncle Frankie, uncle Keith (recently departed), auntie Helen and cousins Lola and Mia, as well as Leighann, who was the first person to introduce him to drum and bass and garage as a kid and stars on the mixtape’s cover art.

They appear throughout the record via a series of voice notes, his only contact with his family during this year of worldwide lockdown and an intimate, vicarious glimpse into the personal world of an artist who has generally side-stepped the public gaze.

Joy Orbison’s last release was his 2019 EP Slipping. Regarding Still Slipping Vol. 1, he said in a statement, “I’ve made a point of making this record feel really human, light hearted and humorous in places too so that the weirder bits of the record don’t seem too wanky or self-indulgent.” He added, “In my head this is a soul record but I’m not sure that’s how people will hear it.”



  • 1.W/ Dad & Frankie02:34
  • 2.Sparko02:15
  • 3.Swag W/ Kav04:04
  • 4.Better05:01
  • 5.Bernard?03:43
  • 6.Runnersz02:20
  • 7.'Rraine03:50


  • 8.Glorious Amateurs03:19
  • 9.S Gets Jaded01:20
  • 10.Froth Sipping03:14
  • 11.Layer 604:09
  • 12.In Drink02:55
  • 13.Playground02:57
  • 14.Born Slipping04:32


More by Joy Orbison

You might also like

Shopping bag