Sam Suffy - Translucent vinyl edition
A compelling and unique mosaic of jazz, soul, and electronic elements from 1975!

Sam Suffy - Translucent vinyl edition

Marc Moulin

€ 28,95
  • 2 x LP
Music On Vinyl, Parlophone
1 per customer
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 60 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Marc Moulin’s debut LP Sam Suffy (1975) is a compelling and unique mosaic of jazz, soul, and electronic elements that employs sampled sounds and sequencers to startling effect, vividly anticipating the music of the not-so-distant future. 

While rooted in collective improvisation, cuts like the opening “Le Saule” and “Le Beau Galop” foreshadow the emergence of house music via their underlying electronic motifs; even more impressive is the five-part, 17-minute epic “Tohubohu,” a remarkable update of Musique Concrète sensibilities that creates drumbeats from water drops and pits trumpeter Richard Rousselet against a herd of hippos. 

But for all its complexities and innovations, Sam Suffy is above all a sublime listening experience, closer in spirit and scope to trip-hop than the more abstract fusion classics it follows. 

Sam Suffy is released as a limited edition of 1000 individually numbered copies on translucent vinyl



  • 1.La Saule06:00
  • 2.Misterioso01:43
  • 3.From03:35


  • 1.La Blouse04:10
  • 2.La Bougie01:58
  • 3.Le Beau Galop04:20


  • 1.Tohu-bohu I05:12
  • 2.Tohu-bohu II04:08
  • 3.Tohu-bohu III02:11


  • 1.Tohu-bohu IV02:08
  • 2.Tohu-bohu IV03:36
  • 3.Tohu-bohu Part 2005 Remix04:35


More by Marc Moulin

You might also like

Shopping bag