Roomservice +3
IDM-leaning, home-listening electronica / techno album from 1994 by Orlando Voorn!

Roomservice +3

The Living Room

€ 25,95
  • 2 x LP
Musique Pour La Danse
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Musique Pour La Danse presents Roomservice, Dutchman Orlando Voorn’s forgotten yet unforgettable IDM-leaning, home-listening electronica / techno album from 1994 under his Living Room alias, originally released on the producer’s cult Night Vision label.

Praised unequivocally by those lucky enough to have heard it, this criminally underrated record nonetheless deserves pride of place when talking about forward-thinking electronic music from the early 90s

While it is widely acknowledged that Orlando Voorn’s productions are one of the most fascinating prisms through which to experience a European take on the Detroit sound, Roomservice is also a strong reminder that the paradigm shift from sweaty raves to enhanced home listening, championed by Warp’s Artificial Intelligence series, early Rephlex releases, along with projects such as The Black Dog, Plaid or Autechre was in fact not only limited to British artists.

As its name indicates, The Living Room is not geared for warehouses but instead interested in a more intimate and domestic setting. As such, it does not contain over the top bangers, but it’s hard to find any filler in this album where all the tracks are killer, catchy and memorable. All displaying a sophisticated yet immediate focus on warm melodies and grooves no heavier than a feather, these emotional cuts provide a wonderful and intricate soundscape for introspective listeners to explore, and they will surely find echoes of ideas developped by Manuel Gottsching, Steve Reich and Pat Metheny scattered accross the album.

While some tracks are rhythmic and would fill a dancefloor in a second with their four to the floor or broken beats, the album also gives room for more ambient excursions to occur and develop brilliantly. But once again, it’s more likely you’ll end up dancing on your couch rather than dozing off.

2020 might be the most difficult year in recent history for dancefloors worldwide, yet that’s not going to stop Musique Pour La Danse from reissuing this gem of an album for listeners, dancers, and DJs of today and tomorrow.

Roomservice is reissued and remastered in DLP format with three bonus tracks.



  • 1.Room Of Reflections05:24
  • 2.Fill The Room I02:23
  • 3.Roomservice07:25
  • 4.Easy Duz It05:06
  • 5.Fill The Room Il01:57


  • 1.Synthex06:10
  • 2.Prelude06:10
  • 3.Fill The Room Ill03:41
  • 4.The Army08:38


  • 1.The Gate 05:23
  • 2.Angels10:05
  • 3.Whispering Sounds06:42


  • 1.Spiritual Funk05:45
  • 2.Dancin' On Clouds05:38
  • 3.The Gate (Dub Service)06:09


You might also like

Shopping bag