Solid Air
1973 folk singer-songwriter classic

Solid Air

John Martyn

€ 30,95
  • LP
Island Records
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Solid Air is the fourth studio album by Scottish folk singer-songwriter John Martyn, released in February 1973 by Island Records.

The album was recorded over eight days and features instrumental contributions by bassist Danny Thompson and members of Fairport Convention. "Solid Air", the title track, was dedicated to a friend of Martyn's, Nick Drake, who would die of an antidepressant overdose 18 months after the album was released. Martyn said of the track "It was done for a friend of mine, and it was done right with very clear motives, and I'm very pleased with it, for varying reasons. It has got a very simple message, but you'll have to work that one out for yourself."

 The album features an avant-garde cover of Skip James' "Devil Got My Woman," here retitled "I'd Rather Be the Devil" and performed with heavy use of Martyn's Echoplex tape delay effect.



  • 1.Solid Air05:43
  • 2.Over The Hill02:52
  • 3.Don't Want To Know03:00
  • 4.I'd Rather Be The Devil06:17


  • 1.Go Down Easy03:34
  • 2.Dreams By The Sea03:15
  • 3.May You Never03:40
  • 4.The Man In The Station03:50
  • 5.The Easy Blues03:19


More by John Martyn

You might also like

Shopping bag