Songs Of Praise
Classic reissue on double vinyl!

Songs Of Praise

African Head Charge

€ 25,95
  • 2 x LP
    PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 50 / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


    Originally issued in 1990 and considered by many fans to be AHC’s masterpiece, Songs Of Praise features religious chants set to an African dub backdrop of layered hand percussion, with a mighty sonic and great musicianship places the record in a unique place. An outernational classic.

    For this reissue the album has been expanded to a double LP with all the tracks from the original vinyl release plus bonus tracks previously only available on CD. Re-cut by On-U (and reggae) mastering legend Kevin Metcalfe. Includes a download card for the full audio plus double-sided poster insert with excerpts from a new interview with band leader Bonjo Iyabinghi Noah.

    Tracklist: A1. Free Chant (Churchical Chant Of The Iyabinghi) / A2. Orderliness, Godliness, Discipline And Dignity / A3. Hymn/ A4. Dervish Chant / B1. Hold Some More / B2. Healing Father B3. Healing Ceremony / B4. Cattle Herders Chant / C1. Ethiopian Praises / C2. My God / C3. Gospel Train / C4. Chant For The Spirits / C4. God Is Great / D1. Deer Spirit Song / D2. Full Charge / D3. Fullness / D4. Special Mix 

    Tracks A1 - B4 comprise the original vinyl edition. Tracks C1 - D1 were part of the original CD edition. Tracks D2 & D3 were bonus tracks added to the 2005 CD reissue. Track D4 is a version of Orderliness, Godliness, Discipline and Dignity released on a 7” single with Alan Vega and Alice Donut to accompany issue #12 of Sniffin’ Rock fanzine.

    More by African Head Charge

    Shopping bag