Takin' Off

Takin' Off

Herbie Hancock

€ 24,95
  • LP
Blue Note, UMe
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


  • Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series
  • Audiophile Vinyl Reissues From The Finest In Jazz Since 1939 
  • Mastered From The Original Analog Tapes By Kevin Gray At Cohearent Audio 180 Gram Vinyl

On his debut album Takin’ Off—recorded and released in 1962—jazz legend Herbie Hancock arrived fully formed at the helm of an impressive quintet with trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, tenor saxophonist Dexter Gordon, bassist Butch Warren, and drummer Billy Higgins. Though rooted firmly in hard bop, the brilliant pianist and composer presented his own strikingly original voice on this 6-song album consisting entirely of his own compositions from the funky hit “Watermelon Man” to the timeless ballad “Alone and I.”

This Classic Vinyl Edition is all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.



  • 1.Watermelon Man
  • 2.Three Bags Full
  • 3.Empty Pockets


  • 1.The Maze
  • 2.Driftin'
  • 3.Alone And I


More by Herbie Hancock

You might also like

Shopping bag