Where We Come From (Chicago X London Mixtape)
Live recording with luminaries from two of the planet's bleeding-edge jazz scenes—London & Chicago!

Where We Come From (Chicago X London Mixtape)

Makaya McCraven

€ 24,95
  • LP
International Anthem Recording Company, Total Refreshment Centre
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 50 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Recorded live at Total Refreshment Centre 18 & 19 October 2017 (CHICAGOxLONDON), where 20 musicians and creative minds were involved in a five day mini-residency between two of the most vibrant Jazz scenes at the moment: Chicago and London.  The first two days of the showcase  was when all of the material was recorded. Days three and four consisted of mixing and mastering the sweaty live concert sessions, and the fifth day was reserved for an event called “Fresh Roasted” where live beat-making and remixing of stems recorded from the live sessions took place. Producers Ben Lamar Gay, Emma-Jean Thackray, Lefto, Quiet Dawn and Don Leisure & Earl Jeffers (of the Darkhouse Family) all pitch in great contributions to giving this live Jazz recording that special mixtape feeling.

Performed by Makaya McCraven - drums; Soweto Kinch - saxophone, voice; Theon Cross - tuba; Joe Armon-Jones - Rhodes piano; Nubya Garcia - saxophone; Kamaal Williams - keys. 

12" vinyl LP packaged in heavyweight matte jacket, with printed insert, obi strip & 2 sided IARC/TRC patterned inner sleeve.

Remix Production & Additional Overdubs by LeFtO; Don Leisure & Earl Jeffers (Darkhouse Family); Ben LaMar Gay; Emma-Jean Thackray; Quiet Dawn; Lexus Blondin. 



  • 1.Halls03:49
  • 2.McCraven On The Mic03:09
  • 3.Ox Tales06:22
  • 4.Suite For Artis Gilmore03:02
  • 5.Jupiter Jawn03:15
  • 6.The Oracle03:18


  • 1.The Bounce!02:53
  • 2.King Drive, '86 Cutlass, No Plates03:38
  • 3.Run 'Dem07:27
  • 4.Too Shy03:02
  • 5.Drums&Bruk&FeelTheVibe03:03
  • 6.Birthday Solo01:21
  • 7.TRC Thank You Outro00:43
  • 8.Where We Come From01:11

More by Makaya McCraven

You might also like

Shopping bag