Marea / Tide
Ruins’ 1984 record reissued on MFM!

Marea / Tide


€ 27,95
  • LP
  • 7"
Music From Memory
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Music From Memory’s latest release sees the reissue of the lost Art record ‘Marea / Tide: Sound and Image Research Volume One’ by Italian Wave duo Alessandro Pizzin and Piergiuseppe Ciranna aka ‘Ruins’. 

 Piergiuseppe Ciranna & Alessandro Pizzin first conceived the "Sound and Image Research" series back in the early '80s, when they were involved in various multimedia projects in art galleries and unique exhibition spaces across Italy. In 1984 Ciranna and Pizzin came across the works of Italian artist Luigi Viola, a painter whose work was already known internationally and who was active in galleries worldwide. When the opportunity arose for the three to come together it quite naturally led to the creation and production of the album Marea/Tide; a record not only inspired by the work of Viola but evolved in symbiosis. 

It was to be the first and sadly the only volume in Ruins’ “Sound Image Series”. ‘Marea/Tide’ was released in early autumn 1984 and showcased on November 24th of the same year at an exciting one-off event, alongside exhibitions of the works and listening sessions at the well-known Villa Sagredo in Venice. Further showcases were performed at galleries across Italy by the duo alongside Viola’s art. The records, for the large part, being available solely at those events. 

 The first (and only) print of the album was limited to 600 copies, 200 of which also included an original screen-print of two different works by Luigi Viola; ‘Cuore veneziano/Venetian Heart’, numbered and signed by the artist. Due to poor management and disagreements with the label which produced the record, 300 copies were held for many years in storage and then later sadly destroyed, and ‘Marea/Tide’ disappeared almost completely without trace. Finally available again, and now including a bonus 7” with four stunning unreleased tracks, Ruins’ cult Art record has now been reprinted in colours true to the original work of Luigi Viola, as well as including printed insert with updated liner notes.



  • 1.Heavenly Tide02:15
  • 2.Tides01:45
  • 3.Petit Portrait02:50
  • 4.Dedicated To You02:02
  • 5.Unidentified Lovers02:35
  • 6.Love We'Ve Shared01:58
  • 7.Night Tide01:52
  • 8.Ground03:20


  • 1.Future Tides02:30
  • 2.Ancient Tide01:43
  • 3.Crown Of Thorns02:10
  • 4.I Love You03:17
  • 5.Handmade Paradise01:34
  • 6.Gloomy Points01:22
  • 7.Tomorrow03:50
  • 8.Standing Still01:15


  • 1.Suspension (Bonus 7inch)
  • 2.Leap (4 Years Later) (Bonus 7inch)


  • 1.Vital Sign (Bonus 7inch)
  • 2. Purple Tide (Bonus 7inch)


More by Ruins

You might also like

Shopping bag