The Art Of Pretending To Swim
Tip! 4th album by Villagers! Ft. John Grant & The Staves inc 'This is The Art of Pretending To Swim!

The Art Of Pretending To Swim


€ 26,95
  • LP
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Restless and inventive, while always true to the power of songwriting and melody, Conor O’Brien has made another great leap forward with Villagers’ fourth studio album, The Art Of Pretending To Swim, out via Domino on September 21, 2018. 

Following the sparse, intimate aura of 2015’s Darling Arithmetic, O’Brien’s new record reconnects with the multi-faceted approach of Villagers’ 2010 album debut Becoming A Jackal and 2013’s {Awayland} while adding a new-found soulfulness, rhythmic nous and sonic detail. The 9 songs on The Art Of Pretending To Swim balance a direct accessibility with lyrical themes embracing existential fears and hopes in this desperate, technologically-centred dystopian age. The album was written, produced, mixed and primarily performed by Conor O’Brien in his Dublin studio.



  • 1.Again
  • 2.A Trick Of The Light
  • 3.Sweet Saviour
  • 4.Long Time Waiting
  • 5.Fool


  • 6.Love Came With All That It Brings
  • 7.Real Go-Getter
  • 8.Hold Me Down
  • 9.Ada


More by Villagers

You might also like

Shopping bag