Tony Joe White - 50th Ann white vinyl
a testament to the turbulent cultural climate of the late 60s and early 70s

Tony Joe White - 50th Ann white vinyl

Tony Joe White

€ 21,95
  • LP
Music On Vinyl
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 50 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


180gr vinyl / Gatefold artwork / 50th Anniversary / limited 1000 Copies On White Vinyl

Tony Joe White scored big with 1969's “Polk Salad Annie” from the album Black & White and he was having success as a songwriter too: “Rainy Night In Georgia” was a huge hit for Brook Benton in 1970. 

His self-titled third album (1971) finds the “Swamp Fox” tempering his bluesy rockers with a handful of introspective, soul-dripping ballads and introducing horn and string arrangements for the first time. The addition of the Memphis Horns and other Muscle Shoals session men really worked well for the album. Many of the songs will remind the listener just how turbulent the cultural climate of the late 60’s and early 70’s was in the U.S. Songs like “The Change”, “Black Panther Swamps” and “I Just Walked Away” (the album's first single) are testament to the era. 

The album was recorded over a two-week period in December 1970, in two different Memphis studios. Producing the album was none other than London-born Peter Asher, who had just produced James Taylor's early hits.

Tony Joe White is now available as a 50th anniversary edition of 1000 individually numbered copies on white coloured vinyl.



  • 1.They Caught The Devil And Put Him In Jail In Eudora, Arkansas03:46
  • 2.The Change05:50
  • 3.My Kind Of Woman03:43
  • 4.The Daddy04:41
  • 5.Black Panther Swamps03:01


  • 1.Five Summers For Jimmy03:44
  • 2.A Night In The Life Of A Swamp Fox04:38
  • 3.Traveling Bone02:52
  • 4.I Just Walked Away04:41
  • 5.Copper Kettle04:13
  • 6.Voodoo Village03:06


More by Tony Joe White

You might also like

Shopping bag