Sacred Groves
Debut by Kenian Dj Raph! Textured electronics from pan-African field recordings!

Sacred Groves


€ 22,95
  • LP
Noland Records
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 50 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


DJ Raph is an electronic musician, producer and DJ from Nairobi, Kenya. He is an outstanding fgure in the growing Kenyan underground electronic scene. His debut album Sacred Groves is a rare gem of a record; considered, emotional and contagious

DJ Raph builds rich, textured electronic music from pan-African ethnographic field recordings. Sacred Groves opens up a timeless musical universe, that is both ancient and futuristic; a deep melange of modern electronic bass music, african chants and traditional rhythms. This is essential dance music. It is fundamentally not kitsch or clichéd. 

What makes DJ Raph's approach unique within the abundant production of African electronic music is a keen interest in the meanings and contexts of the original field recordings. Sacred Groves emerges from weeks of research in the extensive music archive of the Iwalewahaus (Bayreuth). The music, rhythms and chants which he builds from are not just to expand his sound palette; his work is a considered homage to the traditions which he borrows from. The archive is revered rather not researched. 

The respect that DJ Raph, a Nairobi-based producer, has for a broad African cultural heritage is deeply visceral and palpable in this music. Long samples allow the feld recordings to breathe, to open up an innovative and vital electronic soundscape. Sacred Groves is simultaneously traditional, contemporary and deeply sacred. 

All music was produced by Raphael Kariuki in Nairobi, Kenia & Bayreuth, Germany. All ethnographic recordings used on this record are part of the UNESCO World Heritage with friendly support of Klassik Center, Kassel. Additional mixing by Hannes Teichmann. Mastered by Mike Grinser at Manmade Mastering, Berlin. 



  • 1.Drum Rhythms
  • 2. Chant Of The Umuhara
  • 3. Earthstep
  • 4.The Boy From Digenenthi
  • 5. Reeds From Chad


  • 1.Bird Trap
  • 2. Ikondera
  • 3.Dance Of The Agasambi
  • 4.Butchers' Rhythm
  • 5.Yayaya Twins

You might also like

Shopping bag