Dead Cities
Mania-classic! Mixing ambient, atmospheric textures with dance music, exploring sonic territories

Dead Cities

The Future Sound Of London

€ 35,95
  • 2 x LP
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Absolute Mania-classic! 

Dead Cities, the seminal fourth album from electronic duo The Future Sound of London, is set for its first-ever vinyl reissue, marking the 25th anniversary of the release. Available as a 2LP set on April 16, the cult classic includes the fan favorites “We Have Explosive” and “My Kingdom,” and features the album’s original, ominous 3-D artwork by the band’s frequent collaborator, Buggy G. Riphead.

Mixing ambient, atmospheric textures with dance music, Dead Cities found The Future Sound of London (Gary Cobain and Brian Dougans) exploring new sonic territories. As with their past projects, the album included a collage of samples, including those from Run-DMC’s Tougher than Leather (“We Have Explosive” and its remix “Herd Killing”) and several films (Blade Runner, among them, amplifying the album’s themes of dystopian, urban decay.) The title track, meanwhile, opens with a menacing sound bite from the film Deep Cover, in which Laurence Fishburne’s character declares, “I had killed a man, a man that looked like me.”

The album also found Cobain and Dougans collaborating with the acclaimed composer, Max Richter, who played piano throughout Dead Cities and co-wrote the eponymous track, “Max.”

Upon its release, Dead Cities was a Top 40 hit in the UK, peaking at No.22. It also featured the band’s two highest-charting singles: “We Have Explosive,” which landed No.12 on the pop charts, and “My Kingdom,” which reached No.13.

Dead Cities tracklist:

Side A
1. Herd Killing
2. Dead Cities
3. Her Face Forms In Summertime
4. We Have Explosive

Side B
1. Everyone In The World Is Doing Something Without Me
2. My Kingdom
3. Max
4. Antique Toy

Side C
1. Quagmire/In A State Of Permanent Abyss
2. Glass

Side D
1. Yage
2. Vit Drowning/Through Your Gills I Breathe
3. First Death In The Family



  • 1.Herd Killing02:09
  • 2.Dead Cities06:20
  • 3.Her Face Forms In Summertime05:57
  • 4.We Have Explosive05:42


  • 1.Everyone In The World Is Doing Something Without Me03:35
  • 2.My Kingdom04:25
  • 3.Max02:03
  • 4.Antique Toy04:05


  • 1.Quagmire / In A State Of Permanent Abyss07:22
  • 2.Glass04:16


  • 1.Yage07:29
  • 2.Vit Drowning / Through Your Gills I Breathe05:24
  • 3.First Death In The Family02:26


More by The Future Sound Of London

You might also like

Shopping bag