We Insist! Max Roach's Freedom Now Suite
One of the defining artistic statements of the civil rights movement!

We Insist! Max Roach's Freedom Now Suite

Max Roach

€ 19,95
  • LP
Jazz Wax Records
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


One of the defining artistic statements of the civil rights movement! 

The album-cover is a simple black and white photo of black men sitting at the counter. They stare the camera down while the white waiter seems nervous. So what? Just three black guys in a café. But in 1960 when this album was first released there were too many people in the US who would have seen this image as an outrage, as provocative, as contrary to God’s law. A white man serving black men? Impossible.

Max Roach was one of the most widely respected drummers in jazz.  Roach was active in the civil rights movement in the US throughout his life and the Freedom Now Suite is a musical history lesson. Just for its subject matter everyone in the world should be forced to listen to this album at least once. 

In the past forty years the word 'freedom' has been chewed up, spat out, kicked around and used to justify pretty much anything. We Insist! takes you back to a time when it actually meant something.*

* Nick Reynolds, 2007 BBC review



  • 1.Driva' Man05:10
  • 2.Freedom Day06:02
  • 3.Triptych: Prayer, Protest, Peace07:58


  • 1.All Africa07:57
  • 2.Tears For Johannesburg09:36


You might also like

Shopping bag