Reachin' (A New Refutation Of Time And Space)
90ies old-school hiphop classic !!! 25th ann edition 2xLP

Reachin' (A New Refutation Of Time And Space)

Digable Planets

€ 39,95
  • LP
Modern Classics Recordings, Capitol Records, LLC
Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Reachin' (A New Refutation of Time and Space) is the acclaimed debut album by alternative hip hop group Digable Planets. It was released on February 9, 1993, by Pendulum/Elektra Records. The album was produced by Digable Planets' Ishmael Butler ("Butterfly") and features raps from Butler, Irving and Viera.

The production leans heavily on jazz samples, Butler explaining that “it was all about resources, really...I just went and got the records that I had around me. And a lot of those were my dad’s shit, which was lots of jazz. The whole concept of ‘We’re a jazz group’ didn’t go down like that. Except that DJ Premier was a big influence, and he sampled a lot of jazz.”

Lyrically, the tone of the album is less overtly political than its successor Blowout Comb, but still touches on issues such as abortion rights (La Femme Fetal) and the drug abuses of jazz musicians (Last of the Spiddyocks). The album title derives from Nueva refutación del tiempo ("A New Refutation of Time"), an essay by Argentinian author Jorge Luis Borges, as well as the tendency of earlier jazz musicians in naming their albums (Moanin', Cookin', etc).

The single "Rebirth of Slick (Cool Like Dat)" became a hit in 1993, breaking into the Top 15 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart and winning Grammy Award for Best Rap Performance by a Duo or Group in 1994. The album was certified Gold by the RIAA in 1993.

•First official vinyl reissue •Expanded as a double LP for improved sound •Deep liner notes by Larry Mizell Jr. interviewing Ishmael “Butterfly” Butler •Lyrics included for the first time •2xLP housed in a deluxe wide spine jacket with booklet and inner sleeves • 25th Anniversary Edition



  • 1.It's Good To Be Here05:06
  • 2.Pacifics (from the soundtrack to the motion picture "N.Y. Is Red Hot")04:31
  • 3.Where I'm From04:35


  • 1.What Cool Breezes Do03:21
  • 2.Time & Space (A New Refutation Of)03:32
  • 3.Rebirth Of Slick (Cool Like That)04:21
  • 4.Last Of The Spiddyocks04:27


  • 1.Jimmi Diggin' Cats03:41
  • 2.La Femme Fétal04:35
  • 3.Escapsim (Gettin' Free)03:24
  • 4.Appointment At The Fat Clinic02:58


  • 1.Nickel Bags03:18
  • 2.Swoon Units04:00
  • 3.Examination Of What04:43


You might also like

Shopping bag