1958 showcase for Coltrane's late-1950s "sheets of sound" style.


John Coltrane

€ 30,95
  • LP
Prestige, Original Jazz Classics
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Release postponed to January 26th 2024. Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused by this. We'll fulfill your orders as soon as possible.

Soultrane is the fourth studio album by jazz musician John Coltrane, originally released in 1958 on Prestige Records. It was recorded at the studio of Rudy Van Gelder in Hackensack, New Jersey, three days after a Columbia Records session for Miles Davis and the Milestones album.

The album is a showcase for Coltrane's late-1950s "sheets of sound" style, the term itself coined by critic Ira Gitler in the album's liner notes.

The album closes with a frenetic version of Irving Berlin's "Russian Lullaby". Producer Bob Weinstock relates Coltrane's humorous interpretation:

We were doing a session and we were hung for a tune and I said, "Trane, why don't you think up some old standard?" He said, "OK I got it.["]...and they played "Russian Lullaby" at a real fast tempo. At the end I asked, "Trane, what was the name of that tune?" And he said, "Rushin' Lullaby". I cracked up.



  • 1.Good Bait12:26
  • 2.I Want To Talk About You11:10


  • 1.You Say You Care06:25
  • 2.Theme For Ernie05:03
  • 3.Russian Lullaby05:42

More by John Coltrane

You might also like

Shopping bag