Tip! Cult Japanese ambient album on Palto Flats!


Yasuaki Shimizu

€ 25,95
  • LP
Palto Flats, We Release Whatever The Fuck We Want Records
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Originally released in 1982, Kakashi is another high water mark in the 80s Japanese underground. This album, which has gathered cult status in recent years, is the project of musical visionary Yasuaki Shimizu, and considered to be one of the highlights of his solo career. Shimizu was the bandleader of Mariah, who also saw their album ‘Utakata No Hibi’ reissued by Palto Flats in 2015. Kakashi offers a similar blend of saxophone experimentations, jazz fusion and ambient dub excursions. Since the 70s Yasuaki has collaborated with Ryuichi Sakamoto, Julee Cruise, David Cunningham and others.

Reissued for the first time outside of Japan, with new liner notes from French author Patrice Bollon, translated original liner notes and ‘studio banter’ from Yasuaki Shimizu. Remastered at Dubplates & Mastering.Production Staff: Kenichi Kishi, Tomoki Magota, Masashi Sasaki, Kiyoshi Ozawa, Paul Aoyama, Toshiaki Ota



  • 1.Suiren
  • 2.Kakashi
  • 3.Kono Yoni Yomeri (Sono 1)
  • 4.Semi Tori No Hi
  • 5.Kono Yoni Yomeri (Sono 2)


  • 1.Yume Dewa
  • 2.Umi No Ue Kara
  • 3.Utsukushiki Tennen


More by Yasuaki Shimizu

You might also like

Shopping bag