1954 sessions by Miles laying the foundations for hard bop.


Miles Davis

€ 30,95
  • LP
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Walkin'  is a Miles Davis compilation album originally released in March 1957 by Prestige Records. 

The album compiles material previously released on two 10 inch LPs in 1954 (Miles Davis All-Star Sextet and Side One of Miles Davis Quintet, dropping "I'll Remember April" from Side Two (which had been on the 12" LP Blue Haze, released the previous year, itself a collection of tunes from previous 10" LPs) and replacing it with the previously unreleased "Love Me or Leave Me" recorded at the same session. Here credited to the "Miles Davis All-Stars", the songs were recorded on 3 April and 29 April 1954 by two slightly different groups led by Davis. Both sessions were recorded at Rudy Van Gelder's home studio.

The album's title track, a staple of Davis's live set for many years, was key to the emerging hard bop approach developed in the mid-1950s, Davis providing it with an anthem.



  • 1.Walkin'
  • 2.Blue 'N Boogie


  • 1.Solar
  • 2.You Don't Know What Love Is
  • 3.Love Me Or Leave Me

More by Miles Davis

You might also like

Shopping bag