The Cinematic Orchestra

€ 29,95
  • 2 x LP
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Not for nothing are they called the Cinematic Orchestra.

As we sit here waiting for the lights to go down with popcorn in our lap, we are transported to the greatest movie that never was. Jason Swinscoe has been living and breathing soundtracks for many a year. You suspect that he'd manage to turn a trip to Sainsbury's into a Homeric odyssey fit for string sections and harp players.

The Cinematic Orchestra are now on their third country, having relocated to Fort Greene, Brooklyn after spending spells in the UK and France. You can hear some of these influences seep out, gently washing your way. Eddie Gale, whose obscure jazz classic 'The Rain' is featured here, was also a native of Fort Greene.

The delectable Björk's 'Joga' is present and correct while Swinscoe's affection for the double bass, here provided by Danny Thompson, is clearly evident on Nick Drake's 'Three Hours'. The marvelous Shuggie Otis- also makes an appearance with 'Aht Uh Mi Hed', while Sebastien Tellier's 'La Ritournelle' doffs its cap in our direction.

The compilation would not be complete without some soundtrack content and Burt Bacharach obliges with 'South American Getaway', while 'Electric Counterpoint' by Steve Reich drops the temperature a tad, before we scoot off somewhere past Southport beach.

And this being Late Night Tales we could not depart without a cover version, 'Talking About Freedom', originally sung by Fontella Bass with whom they have worked extensively.

The lights have dimmed. The Cinzano ads have been and gone. Now it's the main presentation. Lie back and think of Eisenstein. Cinematic? You betcha by golly wow.

Limited collectors' edition 'half-speed' remastered for optimum audiophile reproduction. Pressed on virgin 180 gram heavyweight vinyl. Includes bonus exclusive download code to The Cinematic Orchestra's "LateNightTales" mix as well as umixed track versions in both WAV & MP3 formats. Plus high quality 30cm art print.



  • 1.Flying Lotus - Auntie's Harp07:10
  • 2.Nick Drake - Three Hours06:52
  • 3.Terry Callier - You're Goin' Miss Your Candyman07:18


  • 1.The Freedom Sounds Feat. Wayne Henderson - Behold The Day04:41
  • 2.Shuggie Otis - Aht Uh Mi Hed04:14
  • 3.Thom Yorke - Black Swan07:11
  • 4.The Cinematic Orchestra - Restaurant (Exclusive Cover Version)00:35
  • 5.Steve Reich - Electric Counterpoint04:28


  • 1.Björk - Jóga06:58
  • 2.Imogen Heap - Cumulus06:59
  • 3.Songstress - See Line Woman (See Line Woman Vocal)07:21


  • 1.Sebastien Tellier - La Ritournelle07:33
  • 2.Burial - Dog Shelter02:59
  • 3.Burt Bacharach - South American Getaway06:54
  • 4.The Cinematic Orchestra - Talking About Freedom (Exclusive Cover Version)04:36
  • 5.Will Self - "The Happy Detective" (Part 3) (Exclusive Spoken Word Piece) 01:44


More by The Cinematic Orchestra

You might also like

Shopping bag