Trout Mask Replica
Reissue of the third studio album, originally form 1969. Produced by Frank Zappa.

Trout Mask Replica

Captain Beefheart And His Magic Band

€ 34,95
  • LP
Third Man Records
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Trout Mask Replica is the third studio album by American rock band Captain Beefheart and his Magic Band, released as a double album on June 16, 1969 by Straight and Reprise Records, and produced by Beefheart's childhood friend Frank Zappa. Combining elements of R&B, garage rock, and blues with free jazz, avant-garde approaches, and other genres of American music, the album is regarded as an important work of experimental music and art rock.

Special thanks to Paul R. Dickinson Jr. for providing us with the original Trout Mask Replica cover photograph which we thought had been lost to time." "2012 return by W.B. Note: The years in storage in Warners were not kind to Trout Mask Replica. The masters seriously suffer from oxide loss, primarily at the head of each of the four master reels. Fortunately, FZ had Dick Kunc make "safeties." These actually sound better than the Originals and are in excellent condition but alas, incomplete. This edition of Trout Mask Replica is from the ZFT Vault protection copies, transferred at 96K 24B, except for Frownland and Hair Pie: Bake 2 which are from the original damaged master tapes transferred to direct stream digital at UMRK. DSD workstation provided by Gus Skinas, Super Audio Center. Vaultmeisterment & Transfers by Joes Travers, UMRK, 2012." 



  • 1.Frownland01:40
  • 2.The Dust Blows Forward 'N The Dust Blows Back01:53
  • 3.Dachau Blues02:22
  • 4.Ella Guru02:26
  • 5.Hair Pie: Bake 104:58
  • 6.Moonlight On Vermont03:59


  • 1.Pachuco Cadaver04:39
  • 2.Bills Corpse01:49
  • 3.Sweet Sweet Bulbs02:21
  • 4.Neon Meate Dream Of A Octafish02:26
  • 5.China Pig04:02
  • 6.My Human Gets Me Blues02:46
  • 7.Dali's Car01:26


  • 1.Hair Pie: Bake 202:23
  • 2.Pena02:34
  • 3.Well02:07
  • 4.When Big Joan Sets Up05:18
  • 5.Fallin' Ditch02:08
  • 6.Sugar 'N Spikes02:30
  • 7.Ant Man Bee03:57


  • 1.Orange Claw Hammer03:34
  • 2.Wild Life03:09
  • 3.She's Too Much For My Mirror01:40
  • 4.Hobo Chang Ba02:02
  • 5.The Blimp (Mousetrapreplica)02:04
  • 6.Steal Softly Thru Snow02:18
  • 7.Old Fart At Play01:51
  • 8.Veteran's Day Poppy04:30


More by Captain Beefheart And His Magic Band

You might also like

Shopping bag