Mother Is The Milky Way
2009 sample-heavy psych folk tour only CD finally available on vinyl!

Mother Is The Milky Way


€ 26,95
  • LP
Warp Records
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 100 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


Released as a tour only CD supporting their collaborative album with the Focus Group in 2009, Mother Is The Milky Way takes on a retrospective weight as Broadcast’s true final release before Trish Keenan’s passing in 2011. 

The release contains some of Broadcast’s warmest, most personal recordings as a group. Trish Keenan was known for her dreamily distant delivery on Broadcast’s records, but before connecting with James Cargill, Keenan was a part of another duo in Birmingham: the more folk-leaning Hayward Winters. While virtually nothing from that project made it onto the internet aside from a few mentions in interviews, it provides some explanation for how naturally Broadcast slipped into sample-heavy psych folk for Mother. 

The EP properly opens on ‘In Here The World Begins’, unfurling woozily but proving to be the closest Keenan and Cargill come to a standard issue Broadcast song here. Highlight ‘Elegant Elephant’ is more telling of the project’s aim, crafting a pastoral folk song in what sounds like the belly of a beast, soothed only by the reverberations of Keenan’s voice inside. Sketches of songs quickly give way to tripped out field recordings, woodwind interludes, and excited chatter underpinning Keenan’s singing, giving Mother a certain wide-eyed, psychedelic Alice in Wonderland-esque whimsy. Considering Keenan was a known lover of the children’s book, it’s hard not see Mother as a bittersweet, unintentional tribute to Keenan’s life, but far more enjoyable to just enjoy the ride down one last rabbit hole from Broadcast.



  • 1.Creation Day The Travel Flute Way00:34
  • 2.In Here The World Begins03:28
  • 3.Elegant Elephant02:37
  • 4.Through The Gates Of Yesterday00:44
  • 5.Milling Around The Village01:47


  • 1.The Aphid Sleeps03:29
  • 2.Growing Backwards00:20
  • 3.I'm Just A Person In This Roomy Verse01:55
  • 4.Never Trust A Rusty Bolt00:42
  • 5.Innocence In Orbit00:38
  • 6.Mother's Milk Means Music (At Home In The Universe)03:08


More by Broadcast

You might also like

Shopping bag