Girl And Robot With Flowers
Mesmerizing non-contemporary jazz, originally released 2012.

Girl And Robot With Flowers

The Greg Foat Group

€ 29,95
  • LP
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 50 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


The next installment of mesmerizing non-contemporary jazz by The Greg Foat Group.

Evading the dreaded 'second album syndrome' with consummate ease, Girl And Robot With Flowers is a sonic soundscape of epic proportions that leaves Dark is the Sun in the dust while propelling the listener into infinity and beyond!

With a doff of the hat to sci-fi writer Brian Aldiss, we're whisked off on a thematic journey into the emotive and enthralling realms of cinematic jazz, seductive ambience and exciting, majestic drama. Often unpredictable and certainly never dull, British pianist/composer/arranger Greg Foat uses everything from brass bands and kettle drums, to Moog synthesizer and harmonium, to take us above and beyond the stratosphere of our senses.

As with Dark Is the Sun, this album was recorded in a unique, pure analogue studio in Sweden to capture the full warmth and dynamic range of the wide variety of instruments utilized. The spacious, high quality sound that was achieved by recording direct to tape through high quality vintage equipment is absolutely impeccable, revealing in stunning detail a magical atmosphere the likes of which is rarely heard in the current climate of digitalization and mp3s.

Over the years Greg Foat has collaborated with musicians and artists such as Wendy James, Questlove (of The Roots), The Black Lips, and Justice and The Bees. This past year has been a busy one with tours of Europe and the UK, exposing their music to seasoned audiences; Jamie Cullum, Chris Evans, Gilles Peterson, Craig Charles, Ozwald Boateng, Helena Christiansen, Jude Law, Benicio Del Toro, Lindsay Lohan are just a few of the many faces who have enjoyed the music of The Greg Foat Group. 

Recorded and mixed November 1st - 3rd 2011 and February 7th - 10th 2012. Additional overdubs recorded in Rob's Jazz Shed, May 2012. This album is dedicated to the memory of Gordon Beck. Originally released 2012-12-03.



  • 1.For A Breath A Tarry08:09
  • 2.Cast Adrift03:12
  • 3.Girl And Robot With Flowers (Part IV)04:03
  • 4.Girl And Robot With Flowers (Part V)03:50


  • 1.Have Spacesuit Will Travel (Part II)08:09
  • 2.Clear Skies Select Stick03:12
  • 3.Blues For Lila04:03
  • 4.Girl And Robot With Flowers (Part VI)03:50


More by The Greg Foat Group

You might also like

Shopping bag