Door To The Cosmos 3LP
Miles Davis’ 'call it what you want' attitude x Sun Ra's afro futurism, brought to the dancefloor...

Door To The Cosmos 3LP


€ 34,95
  • 3 x LP
On The Corner
PICK-UP AT SHOP / FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS WITHIN BELGIUM AND EXCEEDING € 60 (FYI: we notice delays at Bpost which are out of our hands, if you want to be a 100% sure about delivery date, best choose pick-up) / Shipping costs are dependent on various factors and are calculated in your shopping cart. Add this item to your cart to see the shipping cost. Or pick up your order at our store in Ghent.


On the Corner goes beyond being a record label. It is a story of innovative artists from hotbeds of ancient-future* music across the globe. This ‘Door to the Cosmos’ compilation is the 10th full release (and an eclectic array of 20 EPs). OtCs rawkus sonic explorations are brought to the fore via 24 tracks making a heady blend of label mainstays and fresh family recruits. The label is an inimitable mixture of Miles Davis’ ‘call it what you want’ attitude, the afro centric futurism of Sun Ra and the evolving electronic frontier where black music kicks it to the dance floor.

‘Door to the Cosmos’ expresses On the Corner’s adventure; future sounds referencing the source, be it Detroit, UK bass culture, New Orleans or the Niger delta. The title riffs off of the otherworldly, afro futurist jazzer Sun Ra’s infamous chant ‘dare to knock at the door to the cosmos’. Sun Ra’s sound and narrative bending inspires us to kick at the rules and push at the infinite, the ecstatic and the unknown through music by knock, knock, knocking at the door to the cosmos. The compilation is the first outing for a new raft of artists who are celebrated by the label and welcomed to a creative space brimming with the tales of unsung pioneers of the past and champion sonic explorers of the future.

V/A - Door To the Cosmos - tracklisting

  • - 1 -

    • 1. A1 Azu Tiwaline Ft Cinna Peyghamy - Violet Curves 
    • 2. A2 Khalab - Sorry 
    • 3. A3 Dngdngdng - Hiperborea (Quixosis Remix) 
    • 4. A4 Jd Twitch - Agyapong 
    • 5. A5 Bkclx - Sisters Brew 
    • 6. B1 Edrix Puzzle - Jonny Buck Buck 
    • 7. B2 Don Korto - Samosa Beat #02 
    • 8. B3 Rebecca Vasmant - Teen Town 
    • 9. B4 Uffe - City's Dead 
  • - 2 -

    • 1. C1 Planet Battagon - Wezlee's Disco Inferno 
    • 2. C2 Clive From Accounts - the Rain 
    • 3. C3 Jose Marquez - La Negra Lorenza 
    • 4. C4 Guedra Guedra Presents Taxi Kabir - Couscous Curtain 
    • 5. D1 Tamar Collocutor V - Everywhere (Live At Trc - Black Clas 
    • 6. D2 Don Korto - Samosa Beat #01 
    • 7. D3 Ariwo - Flameback Dance 
    • 8. D4 Batida Ft Karlon - Aquecedor 
  • - 3 -

    • 1. E1 Petwo Evans - Wheels 
    • 2. E2 Dengue Dengue Dengue - Semillero (Nicola Cruz Remix) 
    • 3. E3 Sunken Cages - Sounds For Zanzi (Iyer Remix) 
    • 4. E4 Babani Soundsystem - Touni Minwi 
    • 5. F1 Collocutor - Lost and Found (Afrikan Sciences Remix) 
    • 6. F2 Dengue Dengue Dengue - Amnative 
    • 7. F3 Tenesha the Wordsmith Ft Tamar Collocutor - Yemaya (Vasma

More by Various

You might also like

Shopping bag